RSS

4. Bayrisches Linien-Infanterie-Regiment “Sachsen-Hildburghausen”

05 May

Now on to something different. As most of you will realise, a regiment of Bavarian troops has nothing to do with my current Napoleonic projects. The Bavarians left the Rheinbund shortly before the Battle of Leipzig and did not take part in the fighting and neither did they take part at Waterloo. So why did I paint this Regiment up?

Well my better half hails from the Kreis (closest equivalent in English would be county) Hildburghausen in what is modern-day Thuringia, which takes up the space of the old Duchy of Sachsen-Hildburghausen. More over the village she comes from also carries a reference to the Saxons in its name. So when I stumbled about this regiment in late 2009, I decided, that this would make for a  good birthday present to her. unfortunately I was working a job some 400 klicks from home last year and spend my weeks in a hotel, which obviously cut my painting time to virtually nill, so I had to settle for something different last year. This year though I am working back in my own region and I had more time to get things done. So for her birthday in March she got this:

4. Bayrisches Linien-Infanterie-Regiment "Herzog von Sachsen-Hildburghausen"

1. Btln., 4. Bayrisches Linien-Infanterie-Regiment "Herzog von Sachsen-Hildburghausen"

After a few comments of “But I am not Bavarian” and “I am not a Saxon, either” and a short history lesson, there was general happiness with the gift. (Women!!! 😐 )

For those who do not know… the house of Saxe-Hildburghausen, belonged to the Saxon bloodline, but was part of the kingdom of Bavaria during Napoleonic times. After the Napoleonic Wars the Kreis Hildburghausen became part of the German Empire and the house of Saxe-Hildburghausen expired. Thuringia itself was only founded in 1920 after WWI and the Duchies and counties were given the right to choose which state the wanted to belong to. Hildburghausen chose Thuringia. In fact of the old Duchies belonging to Bavaria, only Saxe-Coburg chose Bavaria.

But enough of that! The minis are all Wargames Foundry. And they are a mixed blessing. For one they are very nice minis. Good clean sculpts, nice faces and detail. The big downside is variety. You have the same infantryman over and over again. Either with trousers or overall, or with plumes for the grenadier and light companies. The officers wear either a sash and a gorget, which were not used at the same time. So technically you should not mix the officer minis in one unit, but again there is too little variety, so you have to. So when I eventually do the 2nd battalion and other Regiments, I will definitely get myself Front Rank minis to enhance the variety!

But here are a few more shots of the unit.

Command base

Command base (Flag by GMB)

Grenadiers

Grenadiers

Foragers

Foragers

Foragers

Foragers

Foragers

Foragers

As you can see… I was quite happy with the Foundry foragers set. Those are really nice and adds some much-needed variety to the unit as a whole.

 
 

4 responses to “4. Bayrisches Linien-Infanterie-Regiment “Sachsen-Hildburghausen”

  1. SKORDLY

    May 5, 2011 at 10:45

    Nice painting job. Are they based for what rules set ?

    Cheers
    Skorda

    Like

     
    • DHC Wargames

      May 5, 2011 at 10:49

      These are based for Republic to Empire, although the R2E rules are not too strict about that, as long as one minis (28mm) covers a frontage of about 1,5cm to 2cm.

      Like

       
  2. Dan

    May 6, 2011 at 00:52

    Being a first time visitor to your blog I presume your wife wargames and collects figures, thats pretty cool, I wonder if I could give my wife a Napoleonic Regt for her birthday? I may as well make it one that would fit into an army I am already building, nice figures, I love Bavarians, I have a crap load in 15mm I need to paint.

    Like

     
    • DHC Wargames

      May 6, 2011 at 07:18

      THX Dan,

      she enjoys the painting part the most. Usually she does my ancient “barbarians”, since she does like to paint her own take on a minis colours, rather then a given uniform.
      But in the end it was a good gift and one that was appreciated and that is what counts.

      Like

       

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.