RSS

Offensive French Artillery finished

07 Aug
Offensive French Artillery finished

After I posted a review of Offensive Miniatures French artillery a short while ago, I also wanted to have a go at painting them. And they did not disappoint at all. They are nice to paint and offered a lot of detail. So much so that I thought I would go mad painting the highlights on all that red. 😉

The guns are based for Republic to Empire and I have to say, with 6 minis to a base they are quiet crowded. So much so, that I left the ammo chests I painted up as well off.  In retrospect I think I might have gone and based them with 4 crew each and bought two additional guns. But this way there is more action to the bases. I went and changed some mini around between crews to make each base look unique and I think this paid off.

French artillery battery (Offensive Miniatures)

French artillery battery
[Offensive Miniatures]

French 12pdr 1

French 12pdr

French 12pdr 2

French 12pdr

French 12pdr

French 12pdr

French 6" Howitzer

French 6″ Howitzer

French artillery battery (an XI)

French artillery battery (Gribeauval system)

 

20 responses to “Offensive French Artillery finished

  1. Michael Awdry

    August 7, 2012 at 09:21

    Very nice indeed, a great looking unit Sir.

    Like

     
  2. Rodger

    August 7, 2012 at 12:35

    Beautiful painting!

    Like

     
  3. vonpeterhimself

    August 7, 2012 at 13:42

    Very nice Burkhard. The gun crews certainly look different & interesting with the 6 crew on each.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 7, 2012 at 14:32

      Thank you vP!

      I like the scenes you can create with more minis per base. But. Think I really prefer less minis per base, since they look less stuffed that way!

      Like

       
  4. Jason

    August 7, 2012 at 16:03

    Great looking battery! These really turned out nice.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 8, 2012 at 08:48

      I was quiet confident they would when I saw the minis. The detail and interaction are so good that they had to turn out fine!

      Like

       
  5. Curt

    August 7, 2012 at 18:20

    Beautiful work! I really like the abundance of crew as it helps to reflect the tremendous amount of support to keep one of these guns operating.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 8, 2012 at 08:50

      Thanks Curt! They sure needed a lot of personel to operate and if you think about how many spare men and horses you needed to keep them operational once under fire, it is quiet impressive!

      Like

       
  6. Ray

    August 7, 2012 at 19:13

    Excellent work!!!!

    Like

     
  7. The Angry Lurker

    August 7, 2012 at 19:43

    Beautiful figures, beautiful painting, I must admit I like the busy bases!

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 8, 2012 at 08:51

      Thank you, Fran! I like the busy bases, too. They are just so much more effort to arragne and get the basing right.

      Like

       
  8. Dave

    August 8, 2012 at 11:24

    Looking good Burkhard, the bases reflect the artillery rules re bases very well.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 9, 2012 at 09:23

      Thank you, Dave! I am really lokking forward to the day that I find the time to do the artillery park behind those batteries!

      Like

       
  9. Monty

    August 8, 2012 at 23:38

    Such great work Burk and the red does indeed pop! What a great mix of figs and basing. Can you imagine your CO waiving a sword at these and yelling “Charge!”

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 9, 2012 at 09:27

      Thanks Monty! I think soon enough I will have enough minis painted, so the time for swordwaving and charge yelling will be upon us! 😉

      Like

       
  10. kent

    August 9, 2012 at 09:53

    great painting awesome looking figures, real nice

    Like

     

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.