RSS

Normandy houses

27 Sep
Normandy houses

So after the proliferation of SciFi posts recently, I thought it was time for something historical once more. So here are some Normandy buildings.

Normandy Houses

Normandy Houses

For this years Crisis, I am planning to host a WWII game set in Normandy. I had built some buildings from foamcore a couple of years ago but too few to use in a big game. I had looked around at some of the MDF offerings out there (I have grown ever more disenchanted by foamcore), but always found them to look too British for continental Europe and especially Normandy. So my pan had been to build some from foamcore this summer or fall. But when we were in Scotland in May, I stumbled over Timeline Miniatures. Back then they did not have a proper webstore and their offerings were pretty limited, but I liked their Normandy buildings. They actually looked like Normandy to me. Their offering was priced more than reasonably, so I took the leap and ordered three farmhouses (two with two chimneys, one with one chimney) and ruined version each and small shed / outbuilding.

When they arrived, I was quiet happy with what I got. The parts did fit very well and snug and assembled fast. The details might be a bit basic with only a few bullet holes and some brickwork shining through the plaster in a few places, but then again, I wanted something where I could express myself and for the price this was more than fair. Especially since the doors and roof came with tons of nice details! So bottom line is… The quality for money is great!

Regarding the models themselves. I gave them a coat of homegrown structured paint and primed everything light grey. The bricks and bullet holes were airbrushed in appropriate color (as were the doors, shutters and woodwork, although I only fitted them when the rest was done). Over this I applied a coat of Army Painter Soft Tone and then drybrushed with a light sand colour. The roofs were airbrushed black and then drybrushed in two consecutively lighter tones of slate grey. Selected parts of both the roofs and walls, as well as the lower edge of the buildings, were painted in greens to simulate moss. Inside the ruins I created some slight rises from green foam and covered it all up with the sand I use for rubble. Painted that grey, drybrushed in a lighter grey and tan as well as some brick-red. The rest of the bases got static grass and everything was done. While the roofs are removable, I kept the insides of the houses simple, with just white walls and brown floors.

Normandy Farmhouse

Normandy Farmhouse

Normandy Farmhouse

Normandy Farmhouse

Normandy Farmhouse

Normandy Farmhouse

Normandy outbuilding

Normandy outbuilding

Normandy Farmhouse ruin

Normandy Farmhouse ruin

Normandy Farmhouse ruin

Normandy Farmhouse ruin

Normandy Farmhouse ruin

Normandy Farmhouse ruin

Hope you like them.

 
22 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2014 in Terrain building

 

22 responses to “Normandy houses

  1. rodgertherebel

    September 27, 2014 at 08:20

    I love them!!

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 27, 2014 at 18:40

      Thank you! Pretty happy with them myself! 😉

      Like

       
  2. John Michael

    September 27, 2014 at 12:02

    They are great looking.

    John

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 27, 2014 at 18:41

      Thanks John! I know you are working on models and terrain for Normandy, too, so I am glad you like them!

      Like

       
  3. Dean

    September 27, 2014 at 15:42

    Very nice work, Burkhard. I’d never heard of this maker before. The moss is very convincing – I see it around here in WA State all the time :)! Best, Dean

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 27, 2014 at 18:46

      Have to say, I did not know about them till this summer either. But I am glad I stumbled over them.

      The moss was pretty strange to me at first. In the region of Germany where I live, you rarely see that. But I could remember this from a visit to Normandy ten years ago. You also see this a lot in Scotland and since I ordered them when we were in Scotland, the idea of moss quickly embedded itself in my mind!

      Like

       
  4. Monty

    September 27, 2014 at 16:55

    Superb, I love the weathering and character on these! Off to look at the website.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 27, 2014 at 18:47

      Thanks Monty. Really glad you like them. Knowing their store and your interests, I am pretty sure there is something for you, too.

      Like

       
  5. vonpeterhimself

    September 28, 2014 at 11:16

    Great terrain Burkhard.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    Like

     
  6. The Angry Lurker

    September 28, 2014 at 17:15

    Of course I like them, cracking work!

    Like

     
  7. daggerandbrush

    September 29, 2014 at 04:38

    I think you really enhanced the looks of the laser cut mdf houses and gave them what I personally find lacking in the raw mdf stuff: Texture and a 3D-feel. Did you spray the ‘moss’ just on with the airbrush or did you drybrush it on?

    Like

     
    • Craig C

      September 29, 2014 at 06:05

      They look great, I’ve been waiting a week for some to arrive having seen them on your site now, I think they will be worth the wait.

      Craig

      Like

       
      • Burkhard

        September 29, 2014 at 08:06

        Thank you Craig!

        I think it will be worth the wait and unless you are in some very backwater place, they should be with you any day now. Can not tell how long mine took. As I said, I ordered them while on holiday and they were there when I got home roughly two weeks later.

        Like

         
    • Burkhard

      September 29, 2014 at 08:04

      Thank you!

      Yes, without the texture they would be a bit too plain, but these particular models are a great canvas for this kind of enhancement!

      The moss was dry brushed on. At first I thought about airbrushing it, but these days I only use colours designed for the airbrush (Vallejo or AK) and I had none that fitted the shades I wanted so I went with drybrushing.

      Like

       
  8. Nysse

    September 29, 2014 at 06:58

    Great looking buildings! I’ll have to check the manufacturer out as well, as we’re planning to get some more buildings and other terrain for use with 28mm WW2 games at our club

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 29, 2014 at 08:10

      Thanks Samuli. I think one of the keys to good looking tables is to use the diversity of sources available, especially in the historical sector. I think you will be able to find something there!

      Like

       
  9. Phil

    September 29, 2014 at 13:35

    Love these buildings, excellent work!

    Like

     
  10. Curt

    September 29, 2014 at 18:35

    Wonderful work Burkhard. The texture (stucco) really brings the models into their own and gives them that quintessential Normandy feel. Excellent!

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 30, 2014 at 13:43

      Thank you, Curt. Glad if you feel the same about the Normandy look! I have to admit, I was a bit sceptical during the first two steps.

      Like

       

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.