RSS

Maximus and Marcus Aurelius

17 Dec
Maximus and Marcus Aurelius

As some will have noticed, the Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge for this year has begun. Right now I am trying to work my way through the theme round entries first since I a) do not want them to interrupt my normal painting  when they come up every two weeks like they did last year and b) since I will be away over the holidays and not be doing any painting during that time, but I do not want to miss a round. But now on to the first theme round.

When I read over the topics for the theme rounds, there were some that gave me headaches and some that did not. ”Cold” was one of the later. Lots of ideas flashed through my head from a snowman, to tanks in winter camouflage. In the end I settled for an image that I had always liked… the beginning scenes from the movie Gladiator. Anyone who has ever had the pleasure to watch it with me and listen to my mutterings of ”Stirups were not even invented back then!” will know that it is not for the historical accuracy of the movie (or the lack of it), but all the mud and snow depicting warfare in wintery Germany. So Tribune Maximus seemed like the natural selection here. And a selection I started to curse virtually instantly. My first pick was the Warlord Games offering. But the mounted version did not look exactly like Maximus and I felt would better serve on a regular cavalry base. The version on foot looked like Maximus, but did not exactly look impressive. So I turned to the 1st Corps version, which I had already bought when Warlord released theirs. I felt he would look a bit alone on his own, so I decided to add the Marcus Aurelius Miniature from Warlord to the base (even though the two were never depicted side by side on horseback in the movie). So far so good. There were a few more problems I had to face. For example the 1st Corps minis face does not look too much like Russel Crowe and the Warlord Emperor is slightly smaller. The size difference was solved with a piece of card under the emperors horse.
All that being said, I am quite happy with the end result (except for the varnish still being a bit glossy). What I personally really like about the combination of the two minis here is, that they contrast each other rather nicely. The Emperor looks frail and old and even his horse looked worn out. And the Tribune next to him all young and powerful, ready for battle with his horse shaking his head, wanting to charge.

Maximus and Marcus Aurelius

Maximus and Marcus Aurelius

Maximus and Marcus Aurelius

Maximus and Marcus Aurelius

Maximus and Marcus Aurelius

Maximus and Marcus Aurelius

And this is it for now already. Up next is the second theme round entry “Mount(s) and Rider(s)” which will take us back to Napoleonics. But since the theme round only gets its official outing on the 28th, this will probably be my last post before Christmas! Hope you are all having a good and festive time until then!

 

Tags: ,

16 responses to “Maximus and Marcus Aurelius

  1. Michael Awdry

    December 17, 2014 at 14:54

    Such a great pair, well done Sir.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      December 18, 2014 at 09:45

      Thanks Michael, glad you like them!

      Like

       
  2. Paul

    December 17, 2014 at 15:09

    Lovely figures Burkhard!

    Like

     
  3. Monty

    December 17, 2014 at 22:00

    Love the pair, and the movie too. This captures the spirit of both characters.

    Merry Christmas, Burkhard!

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      December 18, 2014 at 09:47

      Thanks Monty! I agree both mikis capture the characters quite well, even though there is a slight size difference. Merry Christmas to you, too.

      Like

       
  4. Stefan

    December 18, 2014 at 08:48

    Nice piece, Burkhard.
    Lately I watched the film a second time after years and murmured similar things: “What kind of helmets are these?”… “Emperor in the arena? Really?”…

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      December 18, 2014 at 10:14

      Thanks Stefan!

      As far as I can remember, Commodus in the arena is not entirely wrong. He used to fight in the arena for some months. In the morning he would just shoot chained up annimals, in the evening in personal (although probably staged) combat. If legend is true this was actually what drove parts of the Senate to see his behaviour as unfit for an Emperor and conspire against him. In the end he did not die in the arena, but sas strangeled in the bath by his wrestling partner. So in some aspects tjey were not too wrong.

      Like

       
  5. Nysse

    December 18, 2014 at 14:12

    Great work on these guys! Merry Christmas!

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      December 22, 2014 at 21:25

      Thank you and a Merry Christmas to you, too!

      Like

       
  6. vonpeterhimself

    December 19, 2014 at 06:23

    A nicely presented set Burkhard. I’ve never seen the film – oh the shame – but am currently reading a novel set in AD 264 so the theme works for me.

    What glossy varnish? I see two wet figures during winter rains. Winter can be miserable like that!! 8O)

    Roll on the 28th.

    A very Merry Christmas to you and yours Burkhard. Give Sammy a pat and a biscuit for me.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      December 22, 2014 at 21:28

      Thank you vP! Well it is not a bad movie, but I think the best way to describe it would be “loosely based on history”! 🙂
      But I am glad it rings your bell! Nice thought on the rain drenched characters, too!

      Like

       
  7. Michael Peterson

    December 22, 2014 at 21:20

    This was definitely a very strong entry for the first Bonus Round. I quite liked it. Wising you and yours a very merry Christmas.
    M

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      December 22, 2014 at 21:30

      Thank you Micheal. I am not even sure how well it did, but I guess largely ignored! 😛

      Merry Christmas to you and your family, too!

      Like

       
  8. Azazel

    December 31, 2014 at 01:26

    Some very nice work here. The figures you’ve chosen work very well together. I really want to start on my Romans, but I need to clear the painting table first.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      December 31, 2014 at 17:55

      Thanks Azazel! I know that feeling… only in my case my better half wants to paint them, But has not had the time to do so in three years! :-/

      Like

       

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.