RSS

Wargods of Olympus: Minotaurus

26 Jan

When it comes to the them rounds on the Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge, it seems like those I was looking forward to and those I do not alternate. Fortunately this is one of those I was really looking forward to. I have for a long time been a great fan of Crocodile Games Wards of Ægyptus and Wards of Olympus ranges. So I had an abundance of yet unpainted mythological miniatures from both Egypt and Greece to choose from. And an easy choice it was. One of the mythological figures that always captured my imagination (and this was only enhanced by a trip to Crete as a child) was the Minotaurus and since I had one in my lead pile I chose it for this round. Now Crocodile Games actually have two Minotaurs, but I always liked this one better. You can still see the chains that were used to chain it to the labyrinth. But if you look closely at the flail he has, you can see that it is actually one of the stone blocks that he was chained to. He ripped it from the wall and now what used to keep him, is his weapon of choice.

Minotaurus

Minotaurus

Minotaurus

Minotaurus

Minotaurus

Minotaurus

Minotaurus

Minotaurus

But now on to something more somber. When Crocodile Games started off over a decade ago, there were many people who helped get things started. Deane P. Goodwin was one of them and over the years I found him to be a very kind person, who was always forthcoming with great advice and good-natured comments. Although I never met him in person, he was one of those people whom I really enjoyed seeing on the internet. So I was greatly saddened to hear that he had passed away about a week ago, just a week shy of his 62nd birthday. So I would like to dedicate this theme round entry to him. Rest in Peace Deane, you will be sorely missed!!!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2015 in Wargods of Olympus

 

8 responses to “Wargods of Olympus: Minotaurus

  1. Tom Halpin

    January 26, 2015 at 12:39

    Bendigedig, Burkhardt, gwaith da iawn fel arferol! Du sollst Cymraeg jetzt verstehen 😉

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      January 26, 2015 at 23:19

      Ddim eto, ond efallai un diwrnod!

      Mae’n ddoniol bod am ryw reswm yn cydnabod y term “bendithio”!

      A diolch llawer! Yr wyf darostyngodd! > > >

      Like

       
  2. Michael Awdry

    January 26, 2015 at 21:26

    It doesn’t get more mythical than a great big Minotaur – absolutely wonderful.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      January 26, 2015 at 23:21

      Thank you! Glad that i am not the only one who felt it was a ist do choice!

      Like

       
  3. daggerandbrush

    January 29, 2015 at 03:08

    Very dynamic and evocative miniature. I really like your colour choice and subtle weathering of the metal. Is it only me or is this snail trail leading down to his loincloth a bit scary ;P.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      January 29, 2015 at 11:41

      Thank you and no… I was a bit irritated as well. For a moment I even thought about filing it off! 😉

      Like

       
  4. von Peter himself

    January 29, 2015 at 09:49

    Hello Burkhard

    Another nice piece Burkhard. Would it make me a bad person if I were to say that my favourite bit is the stone blocK? Lovely colours on my monitor.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      January 29, 2015 at 11:45

      THX vP! And by no means you are a bad person. I often find that myself when looking at other peoples work. Even with really awesome minis it is often those little details that really catch my eye, too!

      Like

       

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.