RSS

Polish Army 1939

01 Sep
Polish Army 1939

As I have indicated before, I am currently working on a big project and that is building a Polish force for 1939. Our club always attends Crisis in Antwerp and our plans for the next six years is to host a game based on an 80th anniversary from the Second World War. So this year it will be Fall Weiß, the invasion of Poland.

So for the last six or seven weeks, I have been working on the infantry component for my Polish army. All the minis are from Warlord games. Some still sculpted by Paul Hicks for Bolt Action Miniatures (mostly those soldiers in normal uniforms) some by different sculptors after Warlord bought the range (those in greatcoats, guns and support weapons). I have to say I enjoyed painting the Paul Hocks sculpts the most. They are not as refined as his current work, especially the faces. But the newer models often have weaker details and some suffer from a huge scale creep. All in all they are all good models though and the army has been fun to paint. All that being said, I only have time to paint during the weekends, so I went for a quick paint job on these minis. Before I get started on the minis themselves… yes I intentionally put white and red flowers on the bases. I felt they are a fitting decoration for Poles.

So, up first the regimental command team.

They are being followed by the regimental communication teams. A wire team and a radio team. I will later do a radio truck as well. BTW, I have no idea what kind of breed the dog pulling the wire spool is supposed to be, but he seemed closest to a wolfhound, so that is the way I painted it.

So let’s go for something heavier. The artillery. The only guns available on the market [Edit 07.06.2021: At the time when i wrote this post] are WZ 1897-17 75mm Howitzers. I shuffled some of the crew around between these and the Bofors 37mm AT gun. The loader for the Bofors was simply holding the shell too high to look realistic. The artillery spotter team are simply two normal infantrymen, one of them with binoculars. Nothing to special, but none of the other minis really looked like a spotters either or were more useful somewhere else.

Last for the support elements is a sniper team.

Up next is the infantry platoon. The platoon command actually packs a good punch. One of the men carries an AT rifle anyway and since I painted one soldier armed with a LMG too many, I allocated him to this team.

Next are the company support elements… medic, mortar team, HMG team, AT rifle tram and a Bofors 37mm AT gun. The later required some tricks. As I said before, the leader did not quite fit the gun and was transferred to the howitzers. To make up for the missing crewmember I added a kneeling rifleman covering the gun crew. The other problem is that the gun shield comes in two parts. Mine was a poor cast where the two parts meet, but I only noticed that problem when I was close to painting it. Some that was covered up by some camp netting. Which is a real shame, since the weathering on the shield turned out quite nicely.

The infantry platoon itself is made up of three ten men rifle section and three nine men support sections. The later include a LMG each. I am not going to bore you by showing you three virtually indentical teams each, so here is one each.

All in all, there are almost 100 minis in total here. Quite happy with my output. Ironically I finished these today, on the 80s anniversary of the invasion of Poland. So I thought I should share these with you today.

Hope you enjoyed these. Now I will have to tackle around 20 vehicles. Not sure I am looking forward to that, but they will get done.

 

6 responses to “Polish Army 1939

  1. Azazel

    September 1, 2019 at 22:52

    Very nice indeed! A great looking Force.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 4, 2019 at 09:48

      Thank you. I am quite happy with them. Although In retrospect I should have gone a little greener on the non-greatcoat uniforms.

      Like

       
  2. Pete S/ SP

    September 2, 2019 at 22:36

    Great to see a Polish army- they never seem to get enough attention from wargamers usually.

    Cheers,

    Pete.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 4, 2019 at 09:50

      Thank you Pete.

      Lately we have developed a taste for early war games, since they have a very different feel then the later war stuff with the higher firepower. So we simply needed Poles. That being said, we are now trying to get armies together for every period of the war in Europe and Africa, so they were on the list anyway.

      Like

       
  3. Harry

    June 5, 2021 at 15:54

    Nice Paintwork

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      June 7, 2021 at 10:30

      Thanks a lot!

      Which reminds me, that I never posted pictures of the vehicles for my Poles. Need to remedy that soon!

      Like

       

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.