RSS

Napoleonic WIP

24 May

I know I have been unreasonably quiet in recent days, so to break that situation… here are a few more pictures.

First up… I finally got to play a game this Friday. If I am not mistaken, this was only the second one I played this year, making it an incredibly poor start to a year. Anyway… we wanted to give the R2E rules another test. Since you have seen virtually all the Nappy minis I have painted so far, it is obvious, that these are not enough to play a proper game (yet). Good luck has it though that one of my friends Dirk, has a vast collection of 15mm Napoleonic minis, so we are using those for playtesting.

R2E playtest

R2E playtest

So what did we do? I got the French and Dirk played Russians. He had a distinct advantage in infantry and a bigger battery of guns, while I had the only cavalry on the table. During the game we had to find, that we had chosen too small a table, with too much terrain. So I had huge problems using my cavalry properly (actually to the point where I failed to do so at all) and that the plans for my infantry had been too ambitious. I lacked the necessary maneuver points to have them perform as wanted in a critical moment and got pretty much beaten up as a result. But the nice thing about it is… we got a lot of close combat and were able to get an in-depth look at that and we found those rules quite satisfactory.

Anyway… what else happened in the past almost two weeks? I am in the process of painting a few minis for a vignette. Minis come from a variety of Perry sets and are meant to depict a French “command centre” (please forgive the use of this very modern term). In general terms it is staff writing orders and handing them out, a messenger arriving on the scene, while Napoleon and his high-ranking officers are planning the next moves at a map table. Now this vignette has a very mixed history. At first I had planned to use it as a table top base showing Napoleons HQ. Then I bought the Perry´s mounted Napoleon set and decided that this would make for a much nicer command base. So I bought a plinth and decided to just do this arrangement for my showcase. But there is still the option to use it without Napoleon, making it a generic army level command base. But right now I am undecided what to do. So I will just paint them up whenever I feel I need a slight break from painting units, see what I like best and decide then. But here are the shots of the first finished pieces.

Map table

Map table

Mounted messanger

Mounted messenger

Writing the orders

Writing the orders

Now I have to say… the faces looked good in real life, but I do not like them at all on these pictures, so I am probably going back to them.

So this is what I did the other weekend. What did I do this last weekend? Prussian Feldjäger. The R2E rules have a nice mechanic, that only allows the changing of Brigade orders if a divisional officer (or above) is within command distance or if he sends a messenger. These need not be represented by actual minis on the tabletop, but what is the use in playing a miniatures game, if you choose not to use minis. So painted these up. Minis are from Calpe and a lot still needs to be done on their bases.

Prussian Feldjäger on jumping horse

Prussian Feldjäger on jumping horse

Two Feldjäger

Two Feldjäger

Two Feldjäger

Two Feldjäger

And last are two French minis that are meant to complete a command and a messenger base. These are Victrix minis converted to fit the bases they are intended for.

Jubilant grenadier

Jubilant grenadier

Fusilier being attacked

Fusilier being attacked

 

One response to “Napoleonic WIP

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.