RSS

2tes Battalion, 14te Schlesische Landwehr

10 Jul

This week everything finally came together. The weather turned good enough to for me to varnish my minis and I had the time to finish the basing and take some pictures. This will lead to a number of posts over the next couple of days, but I felt that I should post pictures of my 2nd Btln. 12th Silesian Landwehr first, since they had been finished (or at least painted) for a couple of weeks now.

As usual, the minis are all Calpe Miniatures. This might sound like a cheap line, but the more I paint them, the more I am in love with these minis. They are full of detail, nicely defined and just a joy to paint. I am really looking forward to painting the next unit of them, although right now I have a unit of Perry Artillery on my painting table.

Anyway back to the unit itself. This is the smallest of the three Landwehr units I will need for Möckern and the second I have painted. They went into battle with 299 men. At the 1:20 ratio for R2E this means 14,95 minis. Now that I am writing this, I am not sure why I rounded that down to 14 minis. I must have thought that this gave me a nice even number of minis, but as you will realise… 14 does not divide by 4. Since I am usually basing my minis 4 to a base I either had to do a two-mini-base or a six-mini-base. In the end I went for six minis on the command base, since I felt that a two-mini-base would either look strange with the unit in line or in column. But realising now that I could just as well done a 15 minis unit which would have translated into three four-mini-bases plus one three-mini-base (possibly with a mounted officer), I feel that this should have been the way to go. Well I will keep that in mind in case I have some time left in 2013. In that case I can simply paint a 15 mini unit and turn this into a different unit of Landwehr for another battle (Ligny or Waterloo for example).

After all this rambling, there is not much more to do, but to show you some pictures of them.

2tes Battalion, 14te Schlesische Landwehr

2tes Battalion, 14te Schlesische Landwehr

2tes Battalion, 14te Schlesische Landwehr

2tes Battalion, 14te Schlesische Landwehr

But as I mentioned in a previous post, I also painted the skirmishers for this unit and the other two Landwehr units while I had these on my table. So here they are:

Skirmishers for the 2tes Battalion, 14te Schlesische Landwehr

Skirmishers for the 2tes Battalion, 14te Schlesische Landwehr

Skirmishers for the 3tes Battalion, 13te Schlesische Landwehr

Skirmishers for the 3tes Battalion, 13te Schlesische Landwehr

Skirmishers for the upcoming 4tes Battalion, 15te Schlesische Landwehr

Skirmishers for the upcoming 4tes Battalion, 15te Schlesische Landwehr

 

 

 

3 responses to “2tes Battalion, 14te Schlesische Landwehr

  1. Jim O'Neill

    July 10, 2011 at 12:45

    These are beautiful, Well sone, Sir!

    Like

     
  2. Ed

    July 10, 2011 at 15:01

    Beautiful work, Burkhard. More inspiration for my own Prussian project.

    Ed

    Like

     
  3. Achilles

    July 10, 2011 at 18:19

    I second that! Really nice and clean painting! Looking forward to your next job!

    Like

     

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.