RSS

4Ground Anglo Danish houses

01 Nov

I received a big badge of 4Ground stuff earlier this month (WWII and Medieval). While I did not have the time to tackle the WWII stuff yet, I assembled the Anglo Danish houses. While none of us has any Anglo-Danes I simply liked them a lot with their small chimney roofs, so they were my first choice from the 4Ground catalogue.

All in all I have been quiet impressed with these. The fit was perfect. Everything went where it should without any sanding required or any gaps. All parts separated easily from the boards they were cut out of (actually some just fell out removing them from their bags). The pre-painting was good as well. There are a few soot-marks from the laser cutting around the windows and so on, but I think this adds to the Dark Age feel. The biggest gripe in this regard was actually the small chimney roof. This was pre-painted a bleached wood shade. But where the parts connect and along the edges you have dark brown shingles, which looks really strange. But those were easily painted over (the perfect colour is Vallejo German Camo Beige if anyone is interested).

They also come with teddy bear fur for the roofs. Unfortunately I did not get it right this time (shame since it worked like a charm when I scratch build my WWII Russian huts two years ago). The fur I still had at home was a lighter shade, so when I used that to cover the bold spots along the ridge of the roof, it showed. So I drybrushed the roof with browns and a moss-green, which also gave it an old look. I also drybrushed some moss-green along the lower edges of the buildings themselves to depict some mould around the lower walls. In addition I painted the floors dark brown and drybrushed them to depict packed earth and painted the inside of the fireplace black, drybrushed grey to depict ash. Now the floor and fireplace are basic on the grounds that I will rarely use the insides anyway, but one day I might add a little texture and redo them… lets see. But now let the pictures do the talking.

4Ground Anglo Danish houses

4Ground Anglo Danish houses

4Ground large Anglo Danish house

4Ground large Anglo Danish house

4Ground Anglo Danish house

4Ground Anglo Danish house

4Ground large Anglo Danish house (inside)

4Ground large Anglo Danish house (inside)

 

 

 

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 1, 2012 in Medival, Terrain building

 

9 responses to “4Ground Anglo Danish houses

  1. Martin Glos

    November 1, 2012 at 01:21

    very nice looking buildings…can´t wait to see them in action! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      November 1, 2012 at 01:31

      Well, I guess you will be the first to do so.

      BTW… the report from last weeks SAGA game will come up tomorrow!

      Like

       
  2. Monty

    November 1, 2012 at 02:50

    Saved! This is a great building at a great price. Now all I need to do is venture into 28mm!

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      November 1, 2012 at 08:45

      Thanks Monty! I thought you were thinking about getting into SAGA… there is your reason to venture! 😉

      Like

       
  3. Dante

    November 1, 2012 at 06:29

    These are really nice looking! Are the doors hinged or did you glue them open like that?

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      November 1, 2012 at 08:49

      Thank you!

      I glued the doors into place. They connect to the building with a peg and hole system. Now that you mention it though… it would be easy enough to hinge them by just drilling through the doorframe (which is separate form the wall) and the door and pushing a wire through it. Wish I hah thought about that before!

      Like

       
  4. Ray

    November 1, 2012 at 09:32

    Excellent looking buildings!

    Like

     
  5. Rodger

    November 1, 2012 at 10:49

    Fantastic looking buildings.

    Like

     
  6. Michael Awdry

    November 1, 2012 at 13:02

    I have to confess that every time I see these buildings I am always impressed.

    Like

     

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.