RSS

Bauhaus GBT-49 Grizzly Tank

18 Aug
Bauhaus GBT-49 Grizzly Tank

So, with my Bauhaus troops nearing their completion fast, it was no time for their heavy tank… the Grizzly. Background wise it is one huge behemoth. It is armed with a 230mm mortar and 180mm anti-tank gun in the turret, no less than eight gattling type LMGs in the front and sides and two 45mm cannons in small turrets to the rear. And this is essentially the small version, with Bauhaus fielding even larger versions of the Grizzly, so big that they even have a mess complete with cook and steward inside.

At first the model gave me some headache, since the upper and lower body halves had somewhat distorted when cooling after casting and would not fit. So I dumped them both in boiling water and fitted them to a jig together before putting them in cold water. Which did the trick and cooled the whole thing in place. There was only one minor section to the rear where the halves would not properly align. At first I thought about sculpting that section up with green stuff, but then I decided to build and ammo rack from plasticard and some WWII T-34 ammo boxes that I had lying around. A little filling was required at the front glacis plate, but that was about it. The main and two rear firing turrets were magnetized and I fitted a base between the hull and main turret to have it ride higher (I was afraid the lower edge of the turret would scratch the hull roof otherwise). And that was it and the painting could begin.

As a base I did a very broad WWI style camo of green, red-brown and dark yellow edges in black on the tank. Up next were the tank and unit markings were added to the front glacis plate and taped off. This was followed a coat of high gloss varnish, followed by hairspray and an overspray of off-white. To complete the hairspray technique the whitewash was partially removed allowing the original camo to show through. Then there was detailing (almost a day worth of it) and it all was done. I will also add some pigments to add to the rust on the exhaust pipes and add dirt to the tracks, but I am still waiting for pigment fixer (one would not imagine how hard that stuff is to order online here in Germany!). And this is it… a nice big tank fitting the winter theme of my forces.

Grizzly

Grizzly

Grizzly

Grizzly

Grizzly

Grizzly

Grizzly (top)

Grizzly (top)

Grizzly (front / markings)

Grizzly (front / markings)

Grizzly (rear 45mm turrets)

Grizzly (rear 45mm turrets)

Grizzly (kill rings)

Grizzly (kill rings)

Grizzly (ammo rack)

Grizzly (ammo rack)

 
16 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2014 in Bauhaus, Sci-Fi, Warzone Resurrection

 

16 responses to “Bauhaus GBT-49 Grizzly Tank

  1. Engel

    August 18, 2014 at 18:06

    That is a awfull design and I cand say I think it looks anything near as cool as the artwork.

    But, you did make it a little less awful with some good painting. 😛

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 18, 2014 at 22:52

      Thanks Engel… I know what you mean. I had been hoping for something larger and was a bit dissapointed when I first saw the model. That being said it looks better IRL and I am glad if I made it look less aweful for you! 😉

      Like

       
  2. Michael Awdry

    August 18, 2014 at 20:30

    What a beaut! Fabulous job.

    Like

     
  3. Nysse

    August 18, 2014 at 20:33

    Nice job on the weathering on this bugger! Like Engel said, it sure is far from the best in the range. Good job even though the ‘canvas’ was far from ideal. It does remind me of 40k Rhinos though

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 18, 2014 at 22:57

      Thank you Samuli, I can hardly add much to this or my comments to Engels post! I think the resemblance to the Rhino is not coincidence. IIRC the original design came from Forge World about two decades ago.

      Like

       
  4. Dean

    August 18, 2014 at 21:46

    Quite a beast – I like the “kill” rings on the barrel too.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 18, 2014 at 22:59

      THX Dean! I was not too sure about the kill rings at first, since they are rather a WWII element in a game with a WWI feel. But I really like the result and am glad you like it!

      Like

       
  5. monty

    August 19, 2014 at 00:11

    What a lovely beast! I really like the winter white treatment, and hope it fights as well as it looks. With 10 cannons, I’m guessing it will.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 19, 2014 at 07:18

      Thank you, Monty! I hope it would do fine in a game. With all its weapons, many structure points and high armour I hope it would… that being said, some forces have dedicated anti armour troops that can deploy in your rear where its armour is weaker. Though choices… especially when it costs more than 4 well equipped infantry units! :-O

      Like

       
  6. Phil

    August 19, 2014 at 17:38

    Excellent job!

    Like

     
  7. RVA

    September 3, 2014 at 18:02

    good work and frustration in the tank – the old one was better.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 4, 2014 at 07:16

      THX… I would have loved one in the old size and with the periscope as well, but this one is already good as it is.

      Like

       
      • RVA

        September 10, 2014 at 17:50

        Do you know where to buy old one?

        Like

         
        • Burkhard

          September 10, 2014 at 19:47

          Ebay is your only chance. But they are even more expensive these days than they were back then!

          Like

           

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.