RSS

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit… the one that got away

03 Sep
Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit… the one that got away

Well not really the one that got away. When I did the first two close combat Vulkan suits showcased on this blog last month, I realized that I would like a third one. Reason is simple… these suits can be deployed in squads of up to three suits, either in the close or ranged combat configuration. Having three each will allow me to field any kind of mix, or even complete units of each configuration. Thanks to Christopher G. and Hendrik D. on the Warzone Facebook page, I got the parts I needed for a third suit, now the only question was… what to do with it! When I converted the squad leader from the original duo to hold an iron girder, my better half commented, that it would have been way cooler if he had held a street lamp. Back then I had already heated up the heads to remodel the fingers around the girder, so I was in no mood to do that again and left it like it was. But this new model gave me the option to go down that route. And this time I wanted to go really dynamic with it. I envisioned this suit charging at the enemy, jumping over a boulder on the ground (quite handy that all my Bauhaus basing contains boulders) to bring said lamppost crashing down on the enemy. Dry-fitting the parts showed that this was possible So I set to work. One of the legs had to be repositioned to achieve the look of one legs straightened to propel the suit off the ground the next moment. Just heating the leg was no option here, so it was cut apart at the knee joint, pinned, repositioned and resculpted using greenstuff. The rest was actually fairly simple with the hands being placed around a 1:48th scale Tamiya lamppost and then glueing one arm after the other to the suit. I was pretty happy I had left the container off the back off the other close combat suits (I assumed it held extra ammo, not needed on the close combat version), otherwise things would have looked a little tight there, but that was it. Anyway… here you go with the photos:

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Not the easiest pose to photograph, but I hope the photos give you an idea! And here is another group shot with the other two!

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suits

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suits

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2014 in Bauhaus, Warzone Resurrection

 

10 responses to “Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit… the one that got away

  1. vonpeterhimself

    September 3, 2014 at 10:30

    A great conversion Burkhard. Dynamic (re)posing and the street light is a great prop/ad-hoc weapon.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 3, 2014 at 10:33

      Thank you vP!

      Really glad my better half suggested the street light!!!

      Like

       
  2. RVA

    September 3, 2014 at 17:41

    Good passion!

    Like

     
  3. Dean

    September 3, 2014 at 22:53

    Quite awesome looking, Burkhard. That first image had me trying to figure out the figure – looked like a huge hand on one leg :)! Best, Dean

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 4, 2014 at 07:15

      Thanks Dean! As I said… not the easiest mini to take photos of!

      Like

       
  4. Nysse

    September 4, 2014 at 11:46

    Epic conversion work you’ve done there again! Very dynamic and fits in great with the other two!

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 4, 2014 at 14:53

      Thank you Samuli. I have been reading terms like epic and awesome a lot since yesterday and I have to say that it really, really feels good. Especially since yesterday turned out to be quite demoralising in another sector, so this really means a lot to me!

      Like

       
  5. Curt

    September 8, 2014 at 18:38

    That is a brilliant bit of kit-bashing Burkhard! Wonderful job on the pose – very dynamic!

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 9, 2014 at 09:04

      Thank you Curt… much appreciated!

      Like

       

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.