RSS

Warhammer 40K Tau Stealth Suit team

02 May

After having completed another large unit for my Napoleonic Prussians (I will post pictures of those tomorrow) I treated myself to another small unit for the Tau Cadre I am working on. This time it is Stealth suits.

Now the fluff says that the stealth suits have stealth field generators that virtually turn them invisible like a cloaking device on Star Trek. Somewhere on the internet on the internet I saw pictures where someone had painted his to make them look like they were in the process of de-cloaking and I wanted to copy that. So part of the suit is in their regular black paint job look with orange Sept markings, while another part still shows the mottled greens from the environment projected by the stealth field. both parts are separated by a blue ripple to where everything is de-cloaking. Hope the effect turned out fine!

Tau XV 25 Shas´vre with fusion blaster

Tau XV 25 Shas´vre with fusion blaster

Tau XV 25 suit with burst cannon

Tau XV 25 suit with burst cannon

Tau Stealth suit with burst cannon

Tau Stealth suit with burst cannon

I know the fluff says that if the sensor vanes are painted in Sept colors, the model is a Shas´ui. But I simply liked the looks of the sensor vanes painted in orange in the new codex, so the whole of the team got them, along with some more orange over the suit to show their allegiance. After all I already said that my NCO´s and Officers are going to be marked by parts of their uniform or suit being picked up in tan (or a flame pattern) instead… so I am sticking with that!

Tau Stealth Suit Team

Tau Stealth Suit Team

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2013 in Sci-Fi, Tau, Warhammer 40.000

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Warhammer 40K Tau Stealth Suit team

  1. Monty

    May 3, 2013 at 00:32

    Fantastic, Burkhard! I love what you’ve done here. Really had to be painstaking to but well worth the effort.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      May 3, 2013 at 08:17

      Thanks Monty! The amazing thing is… I think I painted the whole team in roughly five hours, which was faster than I had expected!

      Like

       
  2. Dalauppror

    May 3, 2013 at 08:37

    Greate painting !

    Like

     
  3. Dale Hurtt

    May 4, 2013 at 18:42

    Outstanding paint and effect. Very imaginative.

    Like

     

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.