RSS

Warzone Resurrection: Imperial Blood Berets (3rd Entry / part 1, 5th AHPC)

10 Feb
Warzone Resurrection: Imperial Blood Berets (3rd Entry / part 1, 5th AHPC)

First of all apologies for not posting these last Monday, when they have been finished for over a week now. I had to get these ten minis done for a tournament in Hamburg on the 31st (Saturday) and essentially I finished the bases on Friday morning. After driving well over 700 clicks that day and playing three matches, I needed Sunday to relax so they had to skip last weeks deadline.

Anyway… what do we have here? Up first are five Imperial Blood Berets. There are ten more of them (they are on my painting table right now), but with the deadline, I had to concentrate on the five I needed for the tournament. Blood Berets are part of Imperials large Special Forces contingent and are named for the color of their berets. And this is where I made the first change. Usually their berets should be blood-red, but I wanted them rather maroon to look more like British Paras (although they have no parachute skill). Also they are usually depicted fighting in the Venusian Jungle and therefore in green fatigues, green vests and armour painted in a camo of medium and dark green with light green dividers. Honestly, this was far too much green for my taste and I wanted more contrast. Plus my troops are not fighting on Venus (at least all the time), but are part of an expeditionary force that has to be at home on a number of planets and more importantly asteroids in the Outer Astroid Belt of the Solar System.

So I went with black fatigues and olive vests. I always loved this color combo since I first watched Space: Above and Beyond, so I decided to use it here. With the armour I went for a brown / green camo with tan dividers. I felt this provided more contrast and was more at home in a umber of settings!

Blood Berets

Blood Berets

Blood Berets (back)

Blood Berets (back)

Blood Berets

Blood Berets

So tomorrow, you will see the other troops I painted for Hamburg, but this is it for now!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 10, 2015 in Imperial, Sci-Fi, Warzone Resurrection

 

8 responses to “Warzone Resurrection: Imperial Blood Berets (3rd Entry / part 1, 5th AHPC)

  1. Dean

    February 10, 2015 at 01:50

    Great looking troops, Burkhard. Now I know this is 180 deg. from who they’re supposed to be, but my first impression was they were French Paras! 🙂

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      February 10, 2015 at 07:25

      Lol Dean. Imhave to say it never dawned on me but you are right… The way they are they certainly look,like the way French Paras (or Legion Etrangé) often appear in photos!

      Like

       
  2. Alexandre Dupuis

    February 10, 2015 at 14:42

    Great work! The more I see Imperials painted the more I’m tempted to get some. Though I still have a mountain of resin awaiting my attention…

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      February 10, 2015 at 15:04

      Thanks Alexandre, but honestly… when has this ever kept a Warmer from buying more! 😛

      Like

       
  3. von Peter himself

    February 11, 2015 at 06:15

    Hello Burkhard

    The figures look like they’ve come straight out of a Commando comic with those berets and those rippling muscles! 😃

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      February 12, 2015 at 13:44

      They certainly do. I am always a bit afraid of painting siuch large muscled areas, but i am certainly happy with the results here!

      Like

       
  4. Nysse

    February 11, 2015 at 09:55

    Nice work Burkhard! Design wise they seem to have taken quite a lot of inspiration from the GW Catachans. And 80s action movies 🙂

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      February 12, 2015 at 13:48

      Thanks!

      I guess the inspiration was rather from those 80´s movies. I just looked it up… The first Blood Berets were in the RPG from 1993, while GW only introduced the Imperial Guard in 1999. So one more thing they stole! 😉

      Like

       

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.