RSS

54ème Inf. de Ligne

25 Apr

So now it is time to keep a few promises. I have decided to spread posting pictures out a little. So today I am going to start with the 54ème Inf. de Ligne for Waterloo. The minis are based for Republic to Empire by Barry Hilton. Which means the Regiment is represented at a 1:20 ratio. While the rules do not require it, I based them 4 minis to a base (which incidentally equals one combat group) on a 4cm x 4cm base from Victrix. The minis themselves are all Perry. Most of these are the greatcoated minis  from their plastic set. The NCO´s command, drummer, sapeurs and so on Perry metals. Some of the minis have been slightly converted, using either the alternative heads from the Perry box or some Victrix heads.

54éme Reg. de Ligne

This first shot shows both battalions behind one another, with the skirmisher bases in front of them.

2nd Btln. Command

Grenadiers

Now the R2E rules allow you to deploy skirmishers from a Regiment. They always deploy as pairs, with the number of pairs depending on the size of the parent unit. In case of the 54éme it is one pair per Btln.. While the rules give you quite a bit of freedom when it comes to basing them, I liked the idea some people had to mount them on hexagonal bases. I decided to use plastic Battletech bases for them, since they are cheap to get  and have a sunken centre.

Skirmisher pair 1

Skirmisher pair 2

I hope you liked this first complete post. As I said… there will be more to come over the next few days.

 

4 responses to “54ème Inf. de Ligne

  1. Allan

    April 25, 2011 at 12:28

    Hi,

    The regiment looks great. Painting up two battalions is no mean feat in Napoleonics 🙂

    What is your take on the Republic to Empire Rules?

    I like the idea of skirmishers being Deployed forward of a Battalion/Regiment.

    Happy Gaming,

    Allan

    Like

     
    • DHC Wargames

      April 25, 2011 at 17:14

      THX Allan,

      these painted up fairly fast due to the greatcoats… took maybe 4 weeks with anaverage of 1 to 2 hrs. a day. But in the end I was happy to paint some Bavarians after that! 😉

      Regarding R2E. I really like those rules. The have a very period feel IMHO and lead to historic results. The rules for artillery, skirmishers and urban combat are really good in the sense, that they take things into account missed in most sets.

      One thing I would advise, is to read the rules twice before play, since it is easy to miss some of the details due to all the eye candy on the pictures.

      Like

       
  2. John Michael

    April 25, 2011 at 16:30

    Nice work, I really like the Perry figures, used the same figures in my 1e legere at Waterloo. Really like those GMB fanions.

    John

    Like

     
    • DHC Wargames

      April 25, 2011 at 17:16

      THX John,

      they are great. I was really impressed by the level of detail, when I bought my first box. In the end they are a real joy to paint compared to other plastics.

      Like

       

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.