RSS

4tes Battalion, 15te Schlesische Landwehr

01 Jul
4tes Battalion, 15te Schlesische Landwehr

Silesian Landwehr

Silesian Landwehr
[although these men are from a 2nd battalion as denoted by their red shoulderboards]

So this is the last Landwehr (Infantry) unit for my Völkerschlacht von Leipzig (Battle of Nations) project, the 4th Btln. 14th Silesian Landwehr. As usual, the minis are all Calpe Miniatures either in charging or trail arms positions. Now this might seem strange, but in the Prussian Army Trail arms was the standard pose while advancing towards the enemy, since it kept the left hand free to control the infantry sabre / hatchet hanging from their left hip. Only just before reaching the enemy did the men actually take their muskets in both hands and I wanted to depict that very moment with most men leveling their muskets, while the slower were still at trail arms.

Anyway back to the unit itself. This unit was  408 man strong at Möckern. At the 1:20 ratio for R2E this translates into 20 minis. They were part of Major von Klüx detachment of the advanced guard, which means that my units for his detachment are nearly complete. Only the Guard Grenadiers are missing (but they were only attached to his detachment for the 2nd assault anyway, so I am fine in painting them a little later as well ;-)) and some Austrian Jäger that were attached to this unit, more by accident then anything else, but more on them in a later post.

I have not been entirely happy with the looks of my flags lately. Not with the flags themselves (I really love those GMB flags), but the way they curl. So far I have always cut them, glued them together with a glue stick, attached them to the staff and shaped them. But lately they always seemed to unfurl while drying and ended up somewhat flat for my taste. So this time I brushed some diluted white glue on the inside and shaped it this way. This time it kept its shape. One thing I did though was make a copy of the flag first. To my knowledge GMB flags are inkjet prints and the diluted white glue would make the colours runny. So I made a copy with a laser printer and used that, which worked fine.

But now without much further ado here are some pictures of them:

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr 1st stand

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr 1st stand

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr 2nd stand

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr 2nd stand

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr 3rd stand

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr 3rd stand

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr 4th stand

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr 4th stand

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr command stand

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr command stand

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr command stand [side view]

4-15te Schlesische Landwehr command stand
[side view]

While these were painted last year and I already showed them in an earlier post, here are the skirmishers for this unit:

Skirmishers for the upcoming 4tes Battalion, 15te Schlesische Landwehr

Skirmishers for the 4tes Battalion, 15te Schlesische Landwehr

 

13 responses to “4tes Battalion, 15te Schlesische Landwehr

  1. Rosbif

    July 1, 2012 at 08:39

    Brilliant work on a classic Landwehr unit, Burkhard!

    Like

     
  2. John Michael

    July 1, 2012 at 14:33

    Well done Burkhard.

    Like

     
  3. Burkhard

    July 1, 2012 at 17:30

    Thank you both!

    Like

     
  4. Jason

    July 1, 2012 at 18:13

    Excellent looking unit, very nicely done!

    I usually hold my flags in the desired shape while gluing until it starts to stiffen up a bit. It really doesn’t take as long as one might think.

    Jason

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      July 1, 2012 at 18:26

      Thanks Jason!

      That was the way I did it this time as well. The glue sticks I used took about two days to dry completely stiff, so holding that long was no option! 😉

      Like

       
  5. Ray

    July 1, 2012 at 20:18

    Excellent painting skills!!!! What a great looking flag as well!

    Like

     
  6. Rob

    July 1, 2012 at 20:24

    You have done quite a nice bit of work, there!

    I’m generally not a fan of Landwehr uniforms, but you have done a fantastic job on them.

    Like

     
  7. Eng

    July 2, 2012 at 06:52

    Great work!
    Its always impressive to see a fully painted Napoleonic unit.

    Like

     
  8. Burkhard

    July 2, 2012 at 11:04

    Thanks a lot again!

    @Rob: Glad you like them! I have grown fond of them. With their rether cluttered looks and longer coats they are a nice break from the line!

    Like

     
  9. vonpeterhimself

    July 3, 2012 at 07:35

    Another very nice unit Burkhard … but then I would appreciate a Calpe Landwehr battalion. It ticks all the boxes! 8O)

    FWIW, I always stick my GMB flags together with watered down PVA. No problems with running ink as yet.

    A friend did spray varnish a unit after attaching the flag. The ink running was impressive to behold … though appreciation was easier since it wasn’t my unit/flag!! 8O))

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      July 3, 2012 at 09:12

      Thanks vP! The next Prussian infantry unit to be done will be the 12te Reserveinfanterie… I guess that one should tick off even more boxes! 😛

      It is funny regarding the varnish. I have always spray varnished them to seal them ever since some of my ACW minis were unloaded in a slight drizzle which produced ink running. Never had that problem! I always start with only a very slight coat on the flags… maybe that was the trick. But just to be safe I think I shall always laser copy them first to make sure.

      Like

       
  10. vonpeterhimself

    July 4, 2012 at 04:00

    I think that the chemical makeup of the varnish matters. I play it safe and attach my flags after the unit has been spray varnished.

    I think I read somewhere that GMB flags have some sort of protection sprayed on at the factory.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      July 4, 2012 at 08:28

      Hard to tell! I always believed that it was the thin coat that did the trick… not enough to soak in and start the colours running, but enought to seal the paper.

      Like

       

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.