RSS

Preussische Berittene Artilleriebatterie Nr. 2

24 Mar

So now I am finished catching up with my entries to the Analogue Hobbies Panting Challenge (or at least I will be after this post). Before anyone asks… I ended up nowhere near the top places at 18th out of 47. Never expected any better since the points are based on numbers painted and lets face it… painting Napoleonics takes ages. But my main aim (in addition to having fun) had been to get things done and use it as a motivator to do just that. And frankly I think I did a good job at that in my humble opinion. My first aim had been 500 points which would have translated into 100 28mm minis.Back then I thought “if I can achieve that number, I will be straight on course for my Völkerschlacht project”. But I still felt that it would be a though thing to do. Where did I end up? 818 points. Now if I deduce to extra points I received for a fine-looking command stand and the entry fee Samurai, this still translates into 152 minis and four guns. So I can be happy.

Berittene Batterie Nr. 2 (front view)

Berittene Batterie Nr. 2 (front view)
[Calpe]

Now the last entry was this and I only managed to finish it in the nick of time. These models are to represent the Prussian Berittene Batterie Nr. 2 (Horse Artillery Battery No. 2) for my Völkerschlacht project. Not much to tell about these, since they were quiet a straight forward job. It is amazing how little I manage to get done these days. The guns were painted one weekend and the crews the following one. This was my best shot at getting the final two points to meet my target together (and to actually surpass it) with a decent entry.

Berittene Batterie Nr. 2 (front view)

Berittene Batterie Nr. 2 (front view)
[Calpe]

The worst thing was getting them based. Now I glue the minis to their base using two-part epoxy for extra strength. So that first step takes about a day to dry. The next step is applying filler to the bases to reduce the pitcher mound look from the integral bases. And there goes another 12 hours drying time. The rest of the basing is quiet straightforward with sand, tuffs and static grass, but it meant that I was constantly afraid of not being able to finish them in time.

Berittene Batterie Nr. 2, Howitzer

Berittene Batterie Nr. 2, Howitzer

Berittene Batterie Nr. 2, 3rd 6pdr

Berittene Batterie Nr. 2, 3rd 6pdr
[Calpe Miniatures]

Berittene Batterie Nr. 2, 2nd 6pdr

Berittene Batterie Nr. 2, 2nd 6pdr
[Calpe Miniatures]

Berittene Batterie Nr. 2, 1st 6pdr

Berittene Batterie Nr. 2, 1st 6pdr
[Calpe Miniatures]

Berittene Batterie Nr. 2

Berittene Batterie Nr. 2
[Calpe Miniatures]

Oh and there is one more thing to give you. Faithful readers of this blog will remember the Prussian Artillery officers I presented earlier this week. Now after some feedback from a member of a German forum it turned out I forgot to paint the collars of their Überröcke and that I should not have been at liberty to paint the bands on their caps in state colours at all. The most annoying thing is… I knew this two years ago as can be seen on the very first post on this blog (looking at which I actually need to repaint his sash… good thing he is still awaiting a base that would suit him after two years). So I have no idea why I forgot the lessons learned just now. Anyway… I sat down and repainted the collars and hats and would like to show you the results as well:

Prussian artillery officers (front view)

Prussian artillery officers (front view)

Prussian artillery officers (side view)

Prussian artillery officers (side view)

 
14 Comments

Posted by on March 24, 2013 in Calpe, Nap.: Prussian, Napoleonic

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Preussische Berittene Artilleriebatterie Nr. 2

  1. Atelier-Robin

    March 24, 2013 at 16:13

    those are all very nice. can we have some shots of the fence ann bushy thing behind them – i assume you made those?

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      March 24, 2013 at 18:44

      Thank you, Robin.

      I will try my best to take some pictures the next week.

      Like

       
  2. Dalauppror

    March 24, 2013 at 17:24

    Great addition to your force, very good paint job !!!

    Best regards Michael

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      March 24, 2013 at 18:45

      Thank you, Michael. Things are really starting to come together now, which is feeing real good!

      Like

       
  3. einarolafson

    March 24, 2013 at 17:44

    Very nice artillery regiment. As I always say, I admire people who paint Napoleonics, especially when they have done such a beautiful painting job.

    Cheers.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      March 24, 2013 at 18:46

      Thank you, Einar… you really humble me!

      Like

       
  4. Monty

    March 24, 2013 at 17:47

    Great painting and basing, Burkhard! If ordered, I wouldn’t charge them. Entering a painting challenge with Napoleonics is like entering a footrace with 50lb backpack on your back. Napoleonics can’t be rushed and you load up your minis with all the extra touches. Very nice finish to place in the top tier. Plus, you had fun!

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      March 24, 2013 at 18:48

      Thank you, Monty!

      Looking at how fast some people were pushing out minis and units I was really impressed. But I could not bring myself to cut corners and really happy the amount of detail gets noticed!

      Like

       
  5. briansmaller

    March 24, 2013 at 19:24

    Now that looks like a battery. Even though most of the rules I play have batteries of 1-2 guns, I always build 3-4 gun batteries. Your Prussian Battery is an inspiration. Thanks for posting.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      March 24, 2013 at 19:49

      Thank you, Brian.

      One of the nice things about R2E is that it actually uses one model to represent two guns in a battery, so you get a real feel. The rules we use for ACW work with one gun representing the whole battery and the number of minis on a base denoting the number of guns… That can really look sad!

      Like

       
  6. Michael Awdry

    March 24, 2013 at 22:26

    Absolutely stunning, what a fabulous battery.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      March 25, 2013 at 00:02

      Thank you, Michael! It means a lot from such an illustrious painter like yourself!

      Like

       
  7. Joe Fish

    March 29, 2013 at 16:42

    Wonderful job on the artillery battery. I also enjoyed the notes and photo of the artillery officers. Two years is not too long to get it right, and it is awesome that you went back and made the changes to a ‘finished’ figure.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      March 29, 2013 at 18:50

      Thank you, Joe!

      The problem with the two years was rather that I had gotten it right two years ago and forgot all I had learned back then. Quiet a shame! :-O Regarding the comming back… I can not help it. I could not live with knowing I botched up this bad. So unless it is a small detail that can not be reached anymore due to the wa the minis are based, I will always go back. Quiet compulsive!

      Like

       

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.