RSS

Dismounted Union cavalry trooper (Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge entry #12)

17 Mar
Now that we have come close to the end of the Challenge, I think there could be no more fitting theme than a last stand. I think there are many fitting examples of a last stand in history, be it 300 Spartans at Thermopylae (sadly I did not have the time to paint those) to the last defenders of Berlin. But I wanted something, that painted a universal picture. And one that really does it for me is an unhorsed cavalryman, left with nothing but his saddle and fighting attackers off at close range. And luckily Warlord Games did a lovely little vignette showing just that for Historicon last year. No I was not there myself (my last visit to Historicon was already nine years ago), but I found a fine gentleman, who had been willing to buy me a mini and send it to me. The annoying thing for me though was that Warlord sold the overstock through their website shortly after… so much for exclusive mini! 😦
Anyway, the mini itself is really nice in dynamic pose, accuracy and detail. Unfortunately I had the mother of all mould misalignments (2mm) so there was a fair bit of cutting and filling required to make it look fine. Anyway, here is the final result:  
Dismounted Union Cavalry trooper (front)

Dismounted Union Cavalry trooper (front)

Dismounted Union Cavalry trooper (side)

Dismounted Union Cavalry trooper (side)

Dismounted Union Cavalry trooper (rear)

Dismounted Union Cavalry trooper (rear)

For those of you wondering about the other entries, here is the link to the special page Curt set up for this fortnight theme and for people to cast their votes for favourites.
 

10 responses to “Dismounted Union cavalry trooper (Analogue Hobbies Painting Challenge entry #12)

  1. Andrew “Loki” Saunders

    March 17, 2014 at 17:51

    A poignant piece of work

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      March 17, 2014 at 22:31

      Thanks Andrew, although I think you are far too kind here!

      Like

       
  2. Nysse

    March 17, 2014 at 20:47

    Great looking dio! Especially considering the moulding problems you had to deal with

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      March 17, 2014 at 22:33

      Thank you Samuli! It sure was lots of work, but I am happy with the results!

      Like

       
  3. Michael Awdry

    March 17, 2014 at 21:16

    This is such a good miniature and beautifully done by your good self.

    Like

     
  4. Ray

    March 17, 2014 at 23:33

    Certainly a great looking figure!!

    Like

     
  5. The Angry Lurker

    March 18, 2014 at 00:25

    Damn good looking entry!

    Like

     
  6. vonpeterhimself

    March 18, 2014 at 23:24

    A great result on a nicely posed figure Burkhard.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    Like

     
  7. Burkhard

    March 24, 2014 at 09:17

    Thank you Ray, Fran and vP!

    Like

     

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.