RSS

Warzone Resurrection: Valerie Duval, Angelica Drachen and some Booby Traps

15 Aug
Warzone Resurrection: Valerie Duval, Angelica Drachen and some Booby Traps

Yes I know, the title is a bit unfortunate, given the fact that we are talking about two ladies, but those are the recent additions to my Bauhaus force, so it cannot be helped!

Lets start anyway. Since I am nearing the completion of my last Bauhaus minis, I wanted to tackle the remaining character minis. I am not sure if I shall ever field them. For one these two ladies hardly do much for me stats wise and as I found out in my last couple of games I might be better off with custom Warlords anyway. But in the later case they might still see service as stand-ins.

Up first is Valerie Duval. At first I was a bit skeptical of this sculpt. I always liked the metal version that was sold with the 1st and 2nd Edition of the game, and I somehow felt this one would not stand up to that old sculpt. Painting her though I found that it is actually quiet a nice mini and en par with the old one. The mini itself is straight out of the box. I have deliberated long and hard how to convert her uniform to the winter theme of my force, but as with the other Etoiles Mortant (the unit she hails from and still to be painted) the layout of the body armour makes the addition of (faux) fur look strange. So she and her sisters will have to do with spandex. I decided to underlay her Bauhaus insignia (the cogwheel) in black. The Etoiles Mortants are women who have lost a loved person to the Dark Legion and out of mourning have joined the unit to take revenge for their deaths. So I felt black was a fitting colour here.

Valerie Duval

Valerie Duval

Valerie Duval

Valerie Duval

Valerie Duval

Valerie Duval

With Angelica Drachen I went a slightly different route. The mini is wearing a rolled up shirt under her body armour and a pelisse style vest over it. That was far easier to bring into line with my winter theme. So I sculpted on long sleeves that I connected to the vest to turn it into a proper jacket. and to make it a proper pelisse I also sculpted on fur cuffs and a collar. Otherwise, this mini is straight out of the box as well. Just like Duval and my Venusian Ranger Special Forces I painted her uniform in a darker blue than my rank and file troops to show her higher status. All the piping and lacing was done in a NMM technique.

Angelica Drachen

Angelica Drachen

Angelica Drachen

Angelica Drachen

Angelica Drachen

Angelica Drachen

And last some scratch build booby traps for my Venusian Rangers. In their first game I forgot that they could deploy booby traps, so I decided to build some counters for them, so I would not forget. essentially these were inspired by modern-day Claymore mines.

Venusian Ranger booby traps

Venusian Ranger booby traps

 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 15, 2014 in Bauhaus, Warzone Resurrection

 

10 responses to “Warzone Resurrection: Valerie Duval, Angelica Drachen and some Booby Traps

  1. Phil

    August 15, 2014 at 07:59

    Nice job with Angelica and Valerie, beautiful models. And once again I like your basements (even if there is no flower of Poland this time!)…Great work!

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 15, 2014 at 10:16

      Thank you, Phil! I guess i will also have to do a winter basing tutorial in due time!

      Like

       
  2. Michael Awdry

    August 15, 2014 at 09:08

    They look great and I really love the basing! The booby traps are amazing, I’ve seen anything like that before.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 15, 2014 at 10:17

      Thanks Micheal!

      The booby traps are just the head of a sewing tread spool cut up, filled with green stuff and mounted on a pair a staples. Really easy to do! 🙂

      Like

       
  3. Stefan

    August 15, 2014 at 12:36

    Very good result. Well done, Burkhard !

    Like

     
  4. vonpeterhimself

    August 16, 2014 at 10:03

    An all female post. Something for me to aim for! 8O)

    Nice work as expected Burkhard. I favour the Angelica Drachen model as she is sensible enough to be wearing a hussar uniform with all that nice lacing. I quite like the model’s posing as well.

    I don’t think I’ve noticed up to now but your snow is most effective. Bravos all around really.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 17, 2014 at 09:20

      That you, vP!

      I guess this is the first all female post for me as well. And I simply could not let Mrs. Drachen go without a proper pelisse… Not in that cold! 😉 The poses on many of the character models in WZR is really good, especially hers… Shame she does not fit my style of play.

      I guess I really need to do a winter bases tutorial then!

      Like

       
  5. Engel

    August 17, 2014 at 12:40

    Nice work but I love those booby-traps.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 17, 2014 at 18:04

      Thank you… glad you like them!

      Like

       

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.