RSS

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suits

17 Aug
Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suits

Right now I am working on my first heavy tank for the WZR game. Since it involves a lot of airbrushing and waiting for the varnish to dry between steps, I though I should paint something else while I am on it, so I took on two more Vulkan suits. These will complement those posted a few weeks ago. While the Vulkan suits back then were the ranged combat version, these are the close combat version. Essentially this means that they are trading away the HMG and heavy flamethrower in favor for two huge hydraulic fists. These should be exceptionally good at taking on and taking out characters with more than one wound or even vehicles… if they can get close enough.

I gave these little more dynamic poses and honestly wish I had done the same with the ranged combat versions as well! As with the others, I added roll bars to the cockpit sections. I did not use the upper arm element, which would essentially have added a third joint to the arms. This felt a little strange to me. Plus it would have made the whole construction a bit vulnerable, since this piece had only two tiny glue points, was small and allowed for little pinning and the lower arms are huge and heavy. I also added an I-beam to the squad commander mini. I felt it suited the model very well. Otherwise I followed the paint shame I had used with their ranged combat brethren. Although I had to see that things had developed since then. The other suits were the first models I airbrushed with the new compressor and I had problems getting the pressure settings right. Which resulted in more of a white overspray (which is enhanced be the walker nature, often blocking areas with its arms and legs). By now I got a better feeling for that and the lines are much cleaner. Which in turn made the grey areas larger and the whole mini darker. But I can not say that I do not like it!

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit (squad leader)

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit (squad leader)

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit (squad leader)

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit (squad leader)

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suit

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suits

Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suits

 
12 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2014 in Bauhaus, Warzone Resurrection

 

12 responses to “Bauhaus close combat Vulkan suits

  1. Dean

    August 17, 2014 at 16:06

    Great looking models, Burkhard. I wonder how they’d looking in “ambush” pattern camo? 🙂 Best, Dean

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 17, 2014 at 18:02

      Thanks Dean! I think they would be great in an Ambush pattern. I guess had I not decided to do it all in a winter pattern, that would have been a great choice. Let’s see what other vehicles they do… Maybe I will do one in ambush with white overspray!

      Like

       
  2. Michael Awdry

    August 17, 2014 at 21:12

    My word they are impressive, I love the one with the girder.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 18, 2014 at 07:53

      Thanks Micheal! Glad they impress!

      Like

       
  3. Nysse

    August 18, 2014 at 06:35

    Impressive miniatures! They look suitable menacing for huge hunks of steel just waiting to pound your enemies into submission. The steel beam in the leaders hand is a really nice touch

    Like

     
  4. Burkhard

    August 18, 2014 at 07:55

    THX Samuli! Again I am glad they impress and honestly… in real live I would not want to see one charging at me either!

    Like

     
  5. Graham Marshall

    August 22, 2014 at 11:11

    Great miniatures, reminds of the “Fallen Skies” sci-fi series. By the way has anyone noted to you how similar the Bauhaus logo is to the Rotary International logo?

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      August 22, 2014 at 12:26

      Thanks Graham!

      I love Falling Skies, but never saw the resemblance… Guess I will have to pop in the DVD tonight to look.
      Yes, that Bauhaus logo is very similar… Luckily they do not go around toting large guns! 😉

      Like

       
  6. Bergqvist

    September 1, 2014 at 08:56

    Looks great! I find it hilarious that there’s a chain of hardware stores here in northern Europe called Bauhaus. Need to terraform a planet? Need to bridge two asteroids? Where do you go? xD

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 1, 2014 at 12:56

      Thank you!

      Did you ever wonder where the squad commander got the I-beam from! 😉

      kidding aside… Warzone was my first proper tabletop all those years ago. The first faction I played and paired back then was, surprise, surprise, Bauhaus. I got all my basic terrain supplies from the local DIy store and which one was the nearest… a Bauhaus. That always felt funny!

      Like

       
  7. RVA

    September 3, 2014 at 18:03

    Damn good minis!

    Like

     

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.