RSS

A big batch of WWII Berlin buildings and ruins

11 Nov
A big batch of WWII Berlin buildings and ruins

So here is the pan-ultimate of my “catching up with the work done ahead of Crisis” posts… the buildings.

For the Berlin buildings, I used MDF buildings from Commission Figurines. As some might remember, I had done two test pieces last year to see what could be done with them and a complete block this summer to see how the process could be speeded up. Last months it was time to do it for good and these are the results. In the end I was happy with the results and especially the time it took me. From the moment I put the first basic coat of paint onto these, to the moment I proclaimed them done, it took me about 4 weeks (obviously not nine to five work, but a few hours an evening and on the weekends), which I think was a good time. And I was more than pleased with the overall results when put on the table. Before anyone asks, the cobblestone playmat underneath is from Deep Cut Studio.

Before I start with the pictures, please note, that some of them have been edited (blurred out) to be in line with German law. It is illegal to publicly use (and posting photos of your miniatures and terrain would fall under that) Nazi symbols like the Swastika, SS Runes and so on here in Germany. It is a criminal offense and even in the best case, being found guilty would mean that I would no longer be allowed to work in the job I learned.

But here we go:

Up first is one of the intact city blocks. They actually come with slots for the ruined floors, but I felt the building was too intact for damaged floors. So the slots were filled with match sticks cut to length (exactly the right size) and I build an intact roof with chimney from MDF, some pink foam and plaster bricks. So far the building has no internal floors, but I think I might eventually add some to it. Although, this would mean that I could no longer store some of the 6 part building blocks inside. Lets see what I will do.

The building itself is meant to represent some party building so I outfitted it with some resin ornaments I bought off eBay more than a decade ago. Which quite surprised me, since their sale would have been forbidden under eBay rules, but somehow it must have passed them by.

Berlin building

Berlin building


Berlin building (rear)

Berlin building (rear)

This is one of the damaged storefront buildings. The signs on the left are a small homage to Walt from Commission Figurines, who used some advertising for the Schultheiss Pilsner brewing company on the buildings he showed off as samples for the Kickstarter campaign. The other is just the name of a local butcher in my hometown.

Since this building shows a lot of battle damage, I added a fair amount of rubble (but still little enough to keep the building playable) and furniture to the building. The furniture here and in the other buildings is just cheap 1:48th scale plastic doll house furniture.

Berlin building

Berlin building


Berlin building (rear)

Berlin building (rear)


Berlin building (inside)

Berlin building (inside)

And a residential block. Now this one is huge (almost 30cm tall IIRC) and provides an impressive central building to any game table.

Berlin building

Berlin building


Berlin building (rear)

Berlin building (rear)


Berlin building (inside)

Berlin building (inside)

And this is another ruined block. While the ones above and below have a one-piece-base, this one is actually 6 pieces, which allows for a little more flexibility when placed on the edges of the table or going for a diagonal layout. Two of the corner pieces (left in the first picture, right in the second) are actually the test pieces done last year. While taking these photos it dawned on me, that I did not put any rubble on the pavements back then… something which will be remedied soon.

Berlin building

Berlin building


Berlin building (rear)

Berlin building (rear)

And another ruined residential block… not as tall as the previous one, but still quite impressive. and the extra top floors I added, provide for a nice sniper nest.

Berlin building

Berlin building


Berlin building (rear)

Berlin building (rear)

And here is the second intact building block. I actually intended this as a normal residential building, but when choosing a scenario for Crisis we found that one of the Battlegroup: Fall of the Reich scenarios actually provides rules for a hospital, which may not be fired at. I like that idea, so I might fashion some red cross flags for the building that might be added in the future.

Berlin building

Berlin building


Berlin building (rear)

Berlin building (rear)

And the second store front building. Now I allowed myself a few puns on this one. The store on the left is a plumber and his name is Nothdurft which in a slightly different spelling but with the same pronunciation means “to relief oneself” in German. This plumber actually exists somewhere in the north of Germany and I decided to pick it up. The one on the right is an undertaker from my hometown. He is actually called Hellfeier which is actually pronounced like the English Hellfire.

Berlin building

Berlin building


Berlin building (rear)

Berlin building (rear)

And this is it. There are still two more 6 part blocks that I did not need for Crisis and that will be done in coming weeks, but otherwise, this is it.

I have to say, I was really happy to see Walt the owner of Commission Figurines at Crisis and seeing that he liked them! This was the first time he had actually seen his buildings used as a whole set-up in 28mm and he was pretty happy with their looks. Which really warmed my heart!

So, tomorrow I will show you the last few pieces done for the game (barricades, Pantherturm and objective markers) and on Friday it should be the game pictures from Crisis. So stay tuned!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 11, 2015 in Terrain building, WWII

 

6 responses to “A big batch of WWII Berlin buildings and ruins

  1. Michael Awdry

    November 11, 2015 at 21:44

    Wow! They look absolutely tremendous!

     
    • Burkhard

      November 12, 2015 at 12:37

      Thank you, Michael!

      Wait till you see them used as a city… they really start to excel!

       
  2. von Peter himself

    November 12, 2015 at 07:57

    If I were you Burchard I would be having words with my builder. Very shoddy work! It looks like someone has been firing artillery and dropping bombs on them!! 8O)

    All excellent pieces. I’m looking forward to seeing your other props and the gaming table.

    Salute
    von Peter himself

     
    • Burkhard

      November 12, 2015 at 12:39

      Well vP… the builders were not to blame… it is actually all those pewter Russians who insisted on dropping bombs on them and firing artillery at them! ­čśŤ

      I think you should be happy tomorrow then!

       
  3. Azazel

    November 14, 2015 at 05:05

    Fantastic work. Very impressive buildings and great interior details!

     

What do you think?

 
