RSS

Ancient / Medival village

29 May
Ancient / Medival village

Since it is not completely unlikely, that we also play some games of SAGA at my place, I decided to do some terrain for it was well. Now I bought these resin pieces a couple of years ago from Warlord Games from my ancient Celts, but I think these would be just as suitable for the dark ages. I just checked and these are no longer available. A bit of a shame. While they were not the best pieces, they were dead cheap and offered good value for money. The minis shown for scale are Celtic women from Warlord Games, painted by my better half.

Village

Village

So this is the village as a whole. Two small round huts (I left the roofs off these so they can be stacked inside one another), a grain storage, a large roundhouse, a longhouse and some odds and ends. I think they cost less than 40 GBP, which I feel was a good price.

Longhouse (front)

Longhouse (front)

Longhouse (back)

Longhouse (back)

The longhouse was the first piece to require some extra effort. The wooden supports for the roof above the entrance and the handrails were missing on the original model. I felt the roof needed these supports so I build them from real wood. Otherwise it was a bit of a pain in the behind mating the roof with the rest since it would either just sit at an angle or there would be huge gaps. In the end it worked out with a minor angle.

Large roundhouse

Large roundhouse

This one came in three parts… the building itself, the main roof and the small roof above the entrance. These pieces came sanded, but the had sanded off so much that there was a very visible gap between the two roofs. So I sculped some new roofing using Milliput Grey. Worked out fine in my humble opinion.

Round huts

Round huts

Not much to say about these. Just some air bubbles to fill and these were good to be painted.

Grainstorage

Grain storage

The grain storage. Again not the best of fits, but it worked out. My better half gave me the idea yesterday, that I should add some bushels of straw to the inside. So before the first game with them, I shall glue some pigs hair inside.

odds and ends

Odds and ends

These are the odds and ends. I think they were not part of the original offer, but Warlord tossed them in for free, but I might be mistaken. Anyway, they are a nice selection. There are clay pots of all shapes and sizes, a small beehive, fireplace, a stone oven, three clay ovens and a millstone. I have decided not to glue them onto the base of the longhouse or even base them at all. Most of them could be useful up to more modern times, so I do not want to restrict myself there.

Village from above

Village from above

I will have to add some more Viking-like buildings in due time and some wattle fancing. I will probably buy some of the later from Renedra at Crisis (Antwerp) in the winter, but for now this will have to do.

 
16 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2012 in Ancients, Celts, Medival, Terrain building

 

16 responses to “Ancient / Medival village

  1. Fireymonkeyboy

    May 29, 2012 at 12:33

    I think it looks spiffy. The extras sell it – things like the ovens.

    Like

     
  2. The Angry Lurker

    May 29, 2012 at 12:39

    You did well on these sir, that bit of extra effort made all the difference but we shouldn’y have to in my opinion.

    Like

     
  3. Burkhard

    May 29, 2012 at 13:21

    Thank you guys!

    Like

     
  4. Ray

    May 29, 2012 at 16:17

    Some beautiful buildings!!! Top job Sir!!

    Like

     
  5. Dean

    May 29, 2012 at 16:52

    Nice terrain; they definitely look appropriate for your SAGA games. Best, Dean

    Like

     
  6. Atelier-Robin

    May 29, 2012 at 18:53

    They look good. I like the ovens too- nice touch

    Like

     
  7. Bigredbat

    May 29, 2012 at 20:08

    Very nice Burkhard! I think you’ll find that you can still get those buildings from Monolith Designs (but be cautious as their customer service record is somewhat … chequered. Mail me for advice if you want to get more).

    Cheers! Simon

    Like

     
  8. Burkhard

    May 29, 2012 at 21:56

    Thanks guys!

    @Simon… I think I know someone who sells Monolith at shows here on the mainland. Might take a look later this year. Although I suspect it would be few at best. These are already enough for a small dwelling and I have a vision for two scratchbuild Viking houses.

    BTW, I would not have thought these to be Monolith modles, but since you mentioned it… Te resin was similar!

    Like

     
  9. Dave

    May 30, 2012 at 01:40

    They look great Burkhard very nice indeed. It would take a true war gaming snob to object to these being used in a dark ages game.

    I see you got the CC thing worked out, good show.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      May 30, 2012 at 06:49

      Which is good, since We have no snobs in our group! 😉

      Yes, the copyright thing worked like a charm with your tip… Only had to add a paragraph and was done. THX!

      Like

       
  10. Thomas

    May 30, 2012 at 11:17

    A nice village. You could add some of the new renedra wattle fences http://www.brueckenkopf-online.com/?p=59254

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      May 30, 2012 at 14:45

      As I said… Those shall be added later this year!

      Like

       
  11. Panaldi

    May 31, 2012 at 15:45

    Very nice, specially the extra detailling. And high multi-period useability. But I think you should turn the lower part of the grain store around, it’s a raised floor to protect the grain form mice (Klugscheissermodus aus…)

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      May 31, 2012 at 17:05

      Technically you are right and this was my initial thought as well. But the house itself has a floor, too. If I turned the lower part over the wood detail would be where one could not see it (on the bottom) while the undetailed side would be visible through the opening. Also there would be an ugly overhang. So,I guess they meant it as a wooden flooring under the storage. Why did they do it this way? No idea but dry-fitting the parts, this was the only way this made sense.

      Like

       

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.