RSS

Back from the UK

28 Aug

OK, so I am back from holidays now. So how did it go? Well I would say quiet well. We actually enjoyed quiet good weather (at least considering where we went).
We actually managed to get on most of the mountains we had planned for plus some others.
Most memorable were the Old Man of Storr on the Isle of Skye. Not just the pinnacles all the tourists do, but actually the ridge, which was marvellous, since we actually ended up on one height with the lower edge of the clouds:

View of Skye from the Old Man of Storr

View of Skye from the Old Man of Storr

Then there was Ben Lomond. Now this was a mixed one for is. Last year we were sent on the Westhighland Way and only after running into some forest workers we realised our mistake and tracked back. Eventually this meant we ran out of time and had to turn around about 2/3 up. This year we had planned to do better and started early, knowing the route from last year. It actually went quiet well, but close to the top we suddenly experienced a massive weather change with a temperature drop, sudden strong winds and ice cold driving rain. We still tried our best, but had to turn around roughly 50 meters (altitude) below the summit. The next two days the weather was even poorer and we had to call it off for this year. Quiet frustrating!

Bonnie, bonnie banks of Loch Lomond

Bonnie, bonnie banks of Loch Lomond
[Just before the weather turned not so bonnie]
The islands in the back actually mark the geological divide between the Lowlands and the Highlands

But the final big one for this year consoled us. Mount Snowdon. Went up the Pigs Track and down the Miners Track (plus an additional mile either way to get out of the Pay and Display zone). While the peak was covered by a thick layers of clouds virtually all the way up and down, we enjoyed a virtually perfect clear sky the hour we were up there.

View from Mount Snowdon looking roughly to the west

View from Mount Snowdon looking roughly to the west

View from Mount Snowdon looking roughly to the east

View from Mount Snowdon looking roughly to the east

So all in all a perfectly great holiday (except for a stomach bug I caught) and I am returning completely relaxed! It only feels very strange to continue painting a unit that you have not touched or seen in over three weeks!

Next post will go into a little more detail about the other big event of our trip (the 40th Anniversary Runrig concert), but after that it will be back to minis… I promise!

I leave you with a (very) few pictures from our trip that took us from Hadrian´s Wall, counter clockwise around Scotland and into Wales:

Hadrian´s Wall

Hadrian´s Wall

Robin Hood Tree (Sycamore Gap) at Hadrians Wall

Robin Hood Tree (Sycamore Gap) at Hadrians Wall

Falkrik Wheel

Falkrik Wheel
[I guess this could inspire any Sci-Fi gamer!]

Small waterfall in Snowdonia

Small waterfall in Snowdonia

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2013 in Holidays

 

8 responses to “Back from the UK

  1. Michael Awdry

    September 1, 2013 at 10:02

    Looks like you’ve been busy while you were over here. Stunning photography Sir.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 2, 2013 at 07:14

      Busy… yes, but definitely enjoying ourselves! And thanks for the nice comment!

      Like

       
  2. Paul

    September 1, 2013 at 14:56

    My goodness Burkhard,
    If i had not known it was you I would have thought this was a post by my brother. This summer he and my other brother went up Ben Lomond (great weather). He also managed mount Snowdon with his son a couple of weeks after as last time they were down the weather was bad . Also they just retuned from Skye around a week ago (no climbing, just relaxing). At this moment my family are on their way back from hadrians wall.

    I have missed all these great activities due to a stupid injury that will no doubt put pay to any further hill climbing.

    I hope you had a great time and trust the stomach bug was picked up in England or Wales and not Scotland!
    Regards
    Paul

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 2, 2013 at 07:20

      Paul, I think this is really funny. Especially taking into account that it seems like we only missed your brother(s) by a couple of days at times!

      Regarding the stomach bug… I am afraid I definaty caught it in Scotland. We are still unsure regarding the causes. It could either have been some meat that was a bit on the rare side inside or the water (which we had to leave outside the tent or inside the car at night) which was a bit cold. I only know, it bugged me for a week.

      Hope your injury heals well!

      Like

       
      • Paul

        September 2, 2013 at 13:24

        Sorry to hear about the tummy, i know the world over i would be ridiculed for my meat being cooked very well done (even my wife snarls at how I eat my steaks) but it would appear safer.

        I’m glad you had a nice time and enjoy our wee country! I hope our wee flying friends didn’t trouble you to much when camping?!

        Regards
        Paul

        Like

         
        • Burkhard

          September 3, 2013 at 20:14

          Well I usually make completely sure, that my meat is well done, but I only noticed that mine was not cooked completely when it was half eaten and to late to heat it up once more. So I had to take my chances.

          The midges did not bother us too much, it then we had net covers for our heads and “Smidge that Midge” which worked like a charm.

          And yes we really enjoyed the UK. If I knew how to get a job in Blighty, we would move there tomorrow! No kidding!

          Like

           
  3. Curt

    September 3, 2013 at 18:34

    Looks like a wonderful vacation! I love the shot of the Robin Hood Tree at Hadrian’s Wall.

    Like

     
    • Burkhard

      September 3, 2013 at 20:21

      THX Curt. We really had the best of holidays! And I am glad you like that photos. It took ages waiting in the grass like a sniper, with all the right filters fitted to the lens, waiting for a moment without tourists and nice sky! 😉

      Like

       

What do you think?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.